CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Anything specifically related to the DM-1801 version of the firmware
m0iga
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:54 pm

CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by m0iga » Sun Oct 25, 2020 11:24 am

Hi
Nider OpenGD77 CPS nor firmwareLoader can't find my 1801. When I plug in GD77 all is correct. Are both rradios use the same programming cable system? I have dadioddity programming cable.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by F1RMB » Sun Oct 25, 2020 2:19 pm

Hi,
m0iga wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 11:24 am
Hi
Nider OpenGD77 CPS nor firmwareLoader can't find my 1801. When I plug in GD77 all is correct. Are both rradios use the same programming cable system? I have dadioddity programming cable.
Nope. DM-1801 and RD-5R are using the same cable, which is different from the GD-77/GD-77S.


Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

m0iga
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:54 pm

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by m0iga » Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:16 pm

Nope. DM-1801 and RD-5R are using the same cable, which is different from the GD-77/GD-77S.
Any idea why software cannot recognise 1801?

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by F1RMB » Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:11 pm

Hi,
m0iga wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:16 pm
Nope. DM-1801 and RD-5R are using the same cable, which is different from the GD-77/GD-77S.
Any idea why software cannot recognise 1801?
Out of the blue, no.
But, are you using the correct cable for the 1801 ?
Does the 1801 is already running the OpenGD77 firmware ?
-> yes: are you able to read the codeplug with the OpenGD77CPS software?

Also, give us a bit of informations about your computer and OS it's running.


Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

VK3KYY
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by VK3KYY » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:07 pm

I loaded both my Baofeng radios (DM-1801 and RD-5R) yesterday using the latest pre-release CPS, and it worked OK

User avatar
Zl1XE
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2020 12:25 am

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by Zl1XE » Sun Oct 25, 2020 11:44 pm

works on my 1801- suspect you have wrong cable.
I used latest CPS and loaded the latest experimental beta from the offered menu.
Remember to start the 1801 while holding down SK1 and SK2 (S1,Fn) buttons for firmware update option. (The LCD screen will remain blank if you get it right).
DM-1801

VK3KYY
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by VK3KYY » Mon Oct 26, 2020 12:09 am

Zl1XE wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 11:44 pm
works on my 1801- suspect you have wrong cable.
I used latest CPS and loaded the latest experimental beta from the offered menu.
Remember to start the 1801 while holding down SK1 and SK2 (S1,Fn) buttons for firmware update option. (The LCD screen will remain blank if you get it right).
Yes. Those are the 2 main causes of problems.

I think a lot of people buy the radio without the cable, as its a cheaper option, and don't realise that the TYT / Radioddity etc cables don't work with Baofeng radios, because Baofeng deliberately made the cables incompatible to force people to pay $$$ for one of their special cables.

m0iga
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 1:54 pm

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by m0iga » Wed Oct 28, 2020 8:56 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Mon Oct 26, 2020 12:09 am
I think a lot of people buy the radio without the cable, as its a cheaper option, and don't realise that the TYT / Radioddity etc cables don't work with Baofeng radios, because Baofeng deliberately made the cables incompatible to force people to pay $$$ for one of their special cables.
That exactly is the answer which I needed. Thanks for explanation.

User avatar
4I1RAC
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:25 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by 4I1RAC » Sun Jun 06, 2021 7:43 pm

Bringing this thread back to life, as I am having trouble updating 2 units of DM-1801 for a friend.

With my own DM-1801, I have been able to update to the latest firmware using the new update method (e.g., download of official GD77 firmware plus the openDM1801 .bin).

A fellow ham sent two units DM-1801, and he said he had been having trouble syncing it up with the openGD77 CPS. He had been able to update the codeplug on one unit with the official CPS. The other one cannot connect somehow.

Both radios will not sync up with openGD77 CPS. It seems it cannot be detected as a COM port when they are connected.

Using the same cable, it works 100% fine on my own openDM1801 radio.

Could it be a hardware issue with the radio itself or perhaps just the sockets? Could it be that some releases of the radio were somehow not compatible with the openGD77 CPS?

Windows sounds as if there's a new device getting connected when I plug either of my friend's radios, but I can't find the com port in Device Manager.
Angelo, 4I1RAC / N2RAC
Brandmeister Philippines support team
Talkgroups
- 51518 bridged to DX1ARM Fusion repeater, Metro Manila
- 515058 bridged to DX1O Fusion Repeater, Metro Manila
- 98977 Opengd77, bridged to YSF Reflector 72170

https://n2rac.com

Ana, F4EPS
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 4:03 pm
Location: Le Mêle sur Sarthe (dépt : 61) - FRANCE
Contact:

Re: CPS and firmware loader do not recognise my 1801

Post by Ana, F4EPS » Sat Jun 19, 2021 10:00 am

Hello all,

I tried with a PC running Windows 10. The situation remains the same.

I introduce myself Ana, F4EPS. I am visually impaired.
I am using an iMac, with Windows 10 via VirtualBox.
Sorry, but my english is too bad, so i'm using google translate.
A friend lent me a DM1801 with the alternative firmware. I loved.
So I bought a DM1801 for myself. He just arrived.
I would like to put the alternative firmware to him (I have everything I need).
The problem is that OpenGD77 can see my friend's post, but not mine. When I plug in my friend's extension, the com port appears, but not with my extension.

I tried with a PC running Windows 10. The situation remains the same.

Please help me., I don't know what to do ...

Thanks in advance

Ana, F4EPS

Post Reply