DM-1701 TX CC issues

K7TLU

DM-1701 TX CC issues

Post by K7TLU » Fri Aug 11, 2023 7:53 am

Full transparency I am a complete OpenGD77 noob, a bit of a DMR noob, an IT Manager/Programmer, General overall nerd, and I have been known to miss that single key bullet point in a manual on occasion. :roll: :D

Hardware: Baofeng DM-1701
Firmware: OpenGD77 Built20230809207900 [3cf6fd3 D]

Okay to my issue: My DM-1701 that I loaded OpenGD77 onto does not seem to be transmitting color codes properly.

When I first flashed the firmware and loaded a code plug, I noticed right away that I could not 'hit' my hotspot even when I was in the same room. I went and pulled up the hotspot (W0CHP-PiStar) dashboard and attempted to transmit again this time watching the RF activity on the dashboard, and again no activity registered. Oh I should mention that the radio swiftly timed out (repeater channel config) when the PTT was depressed.

Next I break out my other DMR radio, an Anytone and test the hot spot, no problems. Okay so can the 1701 receive? Hit the hotspot into parrot TG with the Anytone, and monitor on the 1701... 1701 receives no problems, with the color code set no less.

So now I setup the VFO's on both radios to the same frequency and color code, just trying to get a simplex contact... No dice. Again the Anytone can transmit and be received by the 1701 however the 1701 cannot transmit and be received by the Anytone. If I place the Anytone into digital monitor mode (no filter on CC) I can then transmit from the 1701 and be received by Anytone.

I can also say that the wave form on that I can capture on my little TinySA looks different between the Anytone and the 1701

Thats about all the troubleshooting I have done. Thank you in advance for any assistance, it would be greatly appreciated.

K7TLU

Re: DM-1701 TX CC issues

Post by K7TLU » Fri Aug 11, 2023 7:57 am

I forgot to mention that the 1701 can transmit FM with CTCSS into a local repeater without issue.

SA0BUX