Using GD-77 with a PiStar hotspot

AB6B

Using GD-77 with a PiStar hotspot

Post by AB6B » Sat Apr 02, 2022 2:30 pm

I'm just starting out on the DMR journey and thought I'd try the Open GD-77 route. A few quick questions please:

1. How do I test that my GD-77 is working OK before I install the Open GD-77 firmware?
2. Do I need a special version of the PiStar software installed on my Pi Zero 2 W-based hotspot to run DMR with an Open GD-77 radio?
3. What does hotspot mode do?

Thanks in advance.

Ted

kt4lh

Re: Using GD-77 with a PiStar hotspot

Post by kt4lh » Sat Apr 02, 2022 3:49 pm

I wouldn't worry about testing it, you can always revert. You don't need any special version of Pi-Star, it's been directly supported for at least a year, so just latest release version is perfectly fine.

Hotspot mode lets you use another DMR radio to use your Hotspot basically like a local repeater that you control. But just to be clear here; you can use the GD77 as a normal radio with a normal hotspot.. Or you can put the GD77 in hotspot mode and then IT is the radio and Pi-Star just controls it. It makes for a much, MUCH better receiver, and of course higher output power as well (but watch your temps, really best to not exceed 2W of output).

AB6B

Post by AB6B » Sat Apr 02, 2022 4:04 pm

Thanks, you made that really clear. The detailed instructions for Open GD-77 also seem to make it clear that I can jump straight in and install Open GD-77 firmware on my GD-77 (when it gets here) using the Open GD-77 version of CPS and then backup the flash so I can revert to original firmware if it needs to go back.

AB6B

Post by AB6B » Wed Apr 06, 2022 1:55 pm

I don't have my GD-77 or my hotspot yet but they are on the way. I'm researching how to set up my GD-77 and have a couple of noob questions:
1. The FAQ says
Q. If I install this firmware can I return to the official firmware