Larger memory

VK3KYY
Posts: 4172
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Larger memory

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:43 pm

Sometimes it is better to cut the legs off the chip, and then desolder them individual.

One board I even had to use a Dremmel with a mini cutting disk to cut the legs on a large SMD chip

kt4lh
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:27 am

Re: Larger memory

Post by kt4lh » Thu Nov 25, 2021 10:50 pm

VK3KYY wrote:
Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:43 pm
Sometimes it is better to cut the legs off the chip, and then desolder them individual.

One board I even had to use a Dremmel with a mini cutting disk to cut the legs on a large SMD chip
Honestly this is how I do legged SMT parts too, just clip each leg and clean up and then replace it. I don't have a hot air knife or sufficient hot air here to lift such a part reliably and safely.

VK3KYY
Posts: 4172
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Larger memory

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Nov 25, 2021 10:54 pm

kt4lh wrote:
Thu Nov 25, 2021 10:50 pm
Honestly this is how I do legged SMT parts too, just clip each leg and clean up and then replace it. I don't have a hot air knife or sufficient hot air here to lift such a part reliably and safely.
I totally agree.

I do have a small hot air tool, but in the past I've tried to remove chips using it, and if one of the pins doesn't get completely unsoldered, you end up pulling the track away from the PCB, because the quality of some PCB's seems quite low.

Hence why I prefer to try clipping the legs if that can be done safely

OH6TX
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: Larger memory

Post by OH6TX » Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:03 pm

Hi sirs

Is this 16MB chip ok also fot DM1801?
Just want to order chip before opening unit..


Jari
Thanks for great firmware!

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Larger memory

Post by F1RMB » Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:43 pm

Hi,
OH6TX wrote:
Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:03 pm
Hi sirs

Is this 16MB chip ok also fot DM1801?
Just want to order chip before opening unit..


Jari
Thanks for great firmware!
According to a picture on the forum, yes (but the DM-1801 has a 2Mb chip).
http://www.opengd77.com/viewtopic.php?t=673

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

OH6TX
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: Larger memory

Post by OH6TX » Tue Dec 14, 2021 9:06 am

OK

Thanks for that videolink , clears up things.. same flash (bigger but not enough :lol: ). I love idea that i do not have to reduce callsign database.. just dump all in.
dm1801 seems to have pads for wider flash chip too so package size is not problem.

Lets see when chips arrive..

Jari

OH6TX
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: Larger memory

Post by OH6TX » Thu Dec 23, 2021 6:06 pm

Hello Sir's

I did mofify all of my three DM1801 with 16MB chips.

-Backed up flash to file
-just changed chip in picture to bigger one.. There is place for physically bigger chip! great!
-restored backed up Flash file
-loaded all availlable contact to radio

Works great!

Many thanks for all documents and work for OpenGD77!

Jari, OH6TX
Attachments
dm1801_A.jpg
dm1801_A.jpg (63.1 KiB) Viewed 280 times
DM1801_B.jpg
DM1801_B.jpg (70.64 KiB) Viewed 280 times

g1euq
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: Larger memory

Post by g1euq » Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:29 pm

I've managed to install the 16 mb into my gd77 and everything seems to be working ok so far touch wood!! Now the question, how can I tell if the 16 mb chip is all available for use ?? While downloading the database I saw 9400+ downloading and supposed room of c 39000, are those rough figures roughly correct for the new chip or the old one??
Regards Bert
G1EUQ

VK3KYY
Posts: 4172
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Larger memory

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:34 pm

g1euq wrote:
Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:29 pm
I've managed to install the 16 mb into my gd77 and everything seems to be working ok so far touch wood!! Now the question, how can I tell if the 16 mb chip is all available for use ?? While downloading the database I saw 9400+ downloading and supposed room of c 39000, are those rough figures roughly correct for the new chip or the old one??
Regards Bert
G1EUQ
If you select in the CPS that the radio has 16m but it does not have that much memory, the CPS won't upload all 16mb

Uploading 16mb takes ages, so if its taking a long time, it's working.

You can also backup the flash memory after uploading the DMR IDs and look at the backup file

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Larger memory

Post by F1RMB » Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:39 pm

Hi,

Also, the CPS is probing the radio model and flash chip when you upload the DMRId database.


Cheers.
---
Daniel.
73 de Daniel.

Post Reply