Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post Reply
Cecilien VE2MTS
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:51 pm

Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by Cecilien VE2MTS » Fri Sep 16, 2022 8:23 pm

Hello, I have a Retevis RT-90 radio, I downloaded the openmd9600 firmware and software as well as the bootloader. I did the installation as requested, but I am unable to transfer the firmware to my RT-90. To upload my firmware, I use my USB programming cable provided by Retevis. Is there anything wrong that I'm doing? Thanks in advance for your answer.

G4EML
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by G4EML » Fri Sep 16, 2022 8:43 pm

The cable for the RT90 is just a mini USB cable, nothing special about it.

Are you putting the radio into firmware update mode? This is where most people go wrong.

Completely remove power from radio (disconnect or turn off the power supply, just turning the radio off is not enough)
Hold down Orange and P1 buttons.
Apply power.

Display should flash.

You can then download the firmware using the OpenGD77 CPS

Colin.

VK3KYY
Posts: 4821
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by VK3KYY » Fri Sep 16, 2022 9:34 pm

The bootloader in the radio is not a Com port device, it is a STM DFU device

You need the STM DFU driver installed on your PC. The official firmware firmware installer installs this driver.

Cecilien VE2MTS
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:51 pm

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by Cecilien VE2MTS » Fri Sep 16, 2022 10:48 pm

The STM DFU driver WAS installed when I have tried to upload firmware in the radio.

Cecilien VE2MTS
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:51 pm

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by Cecilien VE2MTS » Fri Sep 16, 2022 10:53 pm

G4EML wrote:
Fri Sep 16, 2022 8:43 pm
The cable for the RT90 is just a mini USB cable, nothing special about it.

Are you putting the radio into firmware update mode? This is where most people go wrong.

Completely remove power from radio (disconnect or turn off the power supply, just turning the radio off is not enough)
Hold down Orange and P1 buttons.
Apply power.

Display should flash.

You can then download the firmware using the OpenGD77 CPS

Colin.
This has been doing but i have this answer "no comm port".
Last edited by Cecilien VE2MTS on Fri Sep 16, 2022 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cecilien VE2MTS
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:51 pm

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by Cecilien VE2MTS » Fri Sep 16, 2022 10:55 pm

VK3KYY wrote:
Fri Sep 16, 2022 9:34 pm
The bootloader in the radio is not a Com port device, it is a STM DFU device

You need the STM DFU driver installed on your PC. The official firmware firmware installer installs this driver.
The STM DFU driver WAS installed when I have tried to upload firmware in the radio.

G4EML
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by G4EML » Fri Sep 16, 2022 11:26 pm

Firmware loading does not use com ports, so if you are getting a message about com ports you must be doing something wrong. Maybe trying to use the codeplug load function instead of the firmware load.

Make sure that you are using the firmware loader feature of the OpenGD77 CPS.
This is found under the 'Extras' menu.

Colin.

Cecilien VE2MTS
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:51 pm

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by Cecilien VE2MTS » Fri Sep 23, 2022 4:47 am

Could the problem be related to the version of my CPU which would be version 2.09?

VK3KYY
Posts: 4821
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Unable to install my firmware, no comm port.

Post by VK3KYY » Fri Sep 23, 2022 10:14 am

Cecilien VE2MTS wrote:
Fri Sep 23, 2022 4:47 am
Could the problem be related to the version of my CPU which would be version 2.09?
What do you mean by CPU version.?

If you mean CPS. There the OpenGD77 CPS numbering is the data, a not numbers like 2.09

Post Reply