Baofeng DM-1701 programmed & seems to be working but no receive audio on DMR

K7XTN

Baofeng DM-1701 programmed & seems to be working but no receive audio on DMR

Post by K7XTN » Wed Oct 18, 2023 1:26 am

Hi all, I'm new to DMR and last week got a DM-1701, loaded OpenGD77 firmware and created a code plug and loaded it onto the radio, and everything seems to be working except that I'm not receiving any audio on DMR, neither from repeaters or the parrot. And just to confirm one obvious point, I have registered for a DMR ID, received it, and have entered it in the radio. I'm running v. R2023.09.21.01 of the OpenGD77 CPS and firmware v. 20230915173056 [ad23585 D] CPU: TYT.

Quick overview what happens:
1) I'll tune to a SeattleDMR repeater, e.g., WW7PSR on 440.775 +5.000 CC2, and set the contact to the parrot (9998, TS1) and when I key up, I get the red transmit light, and a transmit timer starts counting up. I'll do a brief verbal count, and after I unkey, the green receive light comes on but I don't hear any audio.
2) I turned off the DMR filter and TS filter via the quick menu settings, and still don't hear anything. DMR Filter had been set to TGL (which includes all the SeattleDMR talk groups, including the parrot).
3) I don't think it matters on DMR, but I also tried turning the squelch off in the radio options menu (i.e., turned to 0% for UHF) but no effect. However, if I use the side key 3 to open squelch (press & hold) while the green receive light is on (e.g., right after I try transmitting on the parrot), I hear a DMR signal (presumably the parrot) but it's not decoding.
4) I've also loaded a bunch of area analog repeaters, and those work great on both transmit and receive. I've had several QSOs on analog. So it's not a bad speaker or bad mic on the radio.