turn off Voice Prompts?

Post Reply
kx4op
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 08, 2021 2:14 pm

turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by kx4op » Tue Dec 27, 2022 2:21 am

I have just updated my MD-9600 to the beta version. (Very cool, especially the SAT modes). But after testing the Voice Prompts, how do I turn it off?!
73's
KX4OP

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by F1RMB » Tue Dec 27, 2022 7:37 am


VK3KYY
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by VK3KYY » Tue Dec 27, 2022 7:37 am

kx4op wrote:
Tue Dec 27, 2022 2:21 am
I have just updated my MD-9600 to the beta version. (Very cool, especially the SAT modes). But after testing the Voice Prompts, how do I turn it off?!
73's
KX4OP
Options -> Sound options

See the user guide for full details

kx4op
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 08, 2021 2:14 pm

Re: turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by kx4op » Tue Dec 27, 2022 4:07 pm

OH TG! That was driving me crazy!
LOL!, The snake bit me! I read through that section and tried the sound options, apparently, I didn't connect SILENT means OFF! :D

Thank you Sir!
73's

SA0BUX
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2022 8:50 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by SA0BUX » Sat Jan 07, 2023 2:00 pm

Can you clean away the voice prompts from the radio?

I installed them just to test how they sounded.

Now I have to disable them every time the options are reset

VK3KYY
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by VK3KYY » Sat Jan 07, 2023 8:49 pm

SA0BUX wrote:
Sat Jan 07, 2023 2:00 pm
Can you clean away the voice prompts from the radio?

I installed them just to test how they sounded.

Now I have to disable them every time the options are reset
There isn't a feature to remove voice prompts, but you could reload the DMR ID database and choose the option to use the Voice Prompts memory as additional storage for DMR IDs. This would have the same effect

SA0BUX
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2022 8:50 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by SA0BUX » Sat Jan 07, 2023 10:47 pm

VK3KYY wrote:
Sat Jan 07, 2023 8:49 pm
SA0BUX wrote:
Sat Jan 07, 2023 2:00 pm
Can you clean away the voice prompts from the radio?

I installed them just to test how they sounded.

Now I have to disable them every time the options are reset
There isn't a feature to remove voice prompts, but you could reload the DMR ID database and choose the option to use the Voice Prompts memory as additional storage for DMR IDs. This would have the same effect
I will try that.

BTW, noticed that you can select Radio below the option "Use Voice Prompt memory" in the CPS "Download Callsign database"
I couldn't find RT3S/MD-UV380 in that list.

VK3KYY
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: turn off Voice Prompts?

Post by VK3KYY » Sun Jan 08, 2023 6:41 am

SA0BUX wrote:
Sat Jan 07, 2023 10:47 pm
BTW, noticed that you can select Radio below the option "Use Voice Prompt memory" in the CPS "Download Callsign database"
I couldn't find RT3S/MD-UV380 in that list.
This needs to be tidied up. I think its probably redundant, as the CPS now normally asks the firmware what type of radio it is, for most operations.

But a lot of people still run old quite old firmware which does not support reading the radio type :-(

BTW.

The reason that Voice Prompts default to on, is because otherwise blind users would be unable to use the radio after loading the Voice Prompts, as they would have no way to get to the menu to enable the prompts

Generally, once you turn off the VP they won't come back on unless you reset the settings or occasionaly on firmware updates the settings need to be cleared when new features are added or redundant settings are removed.

So its normally not a big problem

Post Reply