Newbie Assistance - OpenGD77 Firmware Installation

VE7PJG

Newbie Assistance - OpenGD77 Firmware Installation

Post by VE7PJG » Sat Jan 28, 2023 7:29 pm

Please excuse me as I am very new to the process of installing firmware on DMR radios, I have the Retevis RT3G with GPS.

I have followed the instructions and when I get to the task of installing the firmware I held up.

After my pc, Lenonvo with Win 10 fully updated, my radio goes blank. Nothing happens but a black blank screen, no LED and nothing happens if I turn it off and then on again.

The radio or pc does not allow me to back up th eflash at this point.

My only option is to install the original firmware from Retevis.

It then returns to it's factoryt setup.

I thought it was my pc so i tried the porcess again on anothe win 10 machine and the same result.

Any assistnace would be apprciated but please keep in mind I have a rookie at a process like this.

Cheers,

Patrick - VE7PJG

VK3KYY

Re: Newbie Assistance - OpenGD77 Firmware Installation

Post by VK3KYY » Sat Jan 28, 2023 8:13 pm

See the thread about new RT3S

The manufacturer changed the CPU chip for an unmarked Chinese clone, and the firmware will not run on the clone chip, it only runs on the real CPU manufactured by STM

VE7PJG

Post by VE7PJG » Sat Jan 28, 2023 8:47 pm

That is unfortunate.

Can I assume the best route would be to wait for a GD77 when they beome available?

Or shop for an older used RT3S?

Thank you,

Patrick VE7PJG

VK3KYY

Post by VK3KYY » Sat Jan 28, 2023 9:34 pm

VE7PJG wrote:
Sat Jan 28, 2023 8:47 pm
That is unfortunate.

Can I assume the best route would be to wait for a GD77 when they beome available?

Or shop for an older used RT3S?

Thank you,

Patrick VE7PJG
GD77's are not currently in production, because the CPU chip in that radio in unobtainable

It looks like the same problem with CPU chips, albeit a different CPU chip is in the RT3S, has occurred and the manufacturer has found a non-idential chinese clone