MD-9600 / RT-90 Installation

G4EML
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Installation information

Post by G4EML » Fri May 13, 2022 10:08 pm

To permanently save a modified channel to the codeplug you need to use SK2 + Green. Pressing Green on its own only makes a temporary change.

On the MD 9600 press and hold the D button on the mic to set SK2 then press A/B (Green) to save the channel.

Colin G4EML

WB4SQI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:31 pm

Re: Installation information

Post by WB4SQI » Mon May 23, 2022 12:49 am

I received a new MD9600 yesterday, Version 2.1. Got it all set up with the official OEM CPS and loaded up an .rdt file that I have used on my GD77 with great success. Existing drivers worked fine in Win10 Pro.

So, printed all the open firmware instructions and began that process. I get to the point where I need to hold the orange and P1 buttons when I power up to enable firmware upload. (DFU mode?) Nothing happens when depressing all three buttons at the same time.

Radio powers up normally with the green power button but holding orange and P1 while depressing the power button has no effect at all.

I've reviewed all the instructions and fail to see where I missed something.

Any ideas?

Nick
WB4SQI

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Installation information

Post by F1RMB » Mon May 23, 2022 3:35 am

Hi,
WB4SQI wrote:
Mon May 23, 2022 12:49 am
I received a new MD9600 yesterday, Version 2.1. Got it all set up with the official OEM CPS and loaded up an .rdt file that I have used on my GD77 with great success. Existing drivers worked fine in Win10 Pro.

So, printed all the open firmware instructions and began that process. I get to the point where I need to hold the orange and P1 buttons when I power up to enable firmware upload. (DFU mode?) Nothing happens when depressing all three buttons at the same time.

Radio powers up normally with the green power button but holding orange and P1 while depressing the power button has no effect at all.

I've reviewed all the instructions and fail to see where I missed something.

Any ideas?

Nick
WB4SQI
Have you turned off the power supply (or disconnect the wires), held down the two buttons then turned the power supply back on ?


Cheers.
---
Daniel

9a3lj
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:37 am

Re: Installation information

Post by 9a3lj » Mon May 23, 2022 6:04 am

You have to hold the orange key and P1 and turn on the rectifier not on the device.73 de 9A3LJ

G4EML
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Installation information

Post by G4EML » Mon May 23, 2022 9:20 am

As the two others have said the clue is that you mention pressing the power button.

To get the radio into boot loader mode you need to completely remove the power supply from the radio, either by turning off the power supply itself or by disconnecting the cable.
Then hold the two buttons and re-apply the power. You should not be pressing the power button on the radio.

WB4SQI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:31 pm

Re: Installation information

Post by WB4SQI » Mon May 23, 2022 10:40 am

Thanks for the helpful instructions. I now have OpenMD9600 fully operational.

Nest Issue:

The default screen on this radio says in a large window, settings update with a small OK in the bottom left corner, not the default vfo screen.

Nick
wb4sqi

VK3KYY
Posts: 5285
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Installation information

Post by VK3KYY » Mon May 23, 2022 10:44 am

WB4SQI wrote:
Mon May 23, 2022 10:40 am
Thanks for the helpful instructions. I now have OpenMD9600 fully operational.

Nest Issue:

The default screen on this radio says in a large window, settings update with a small OK in the bottom left corner, not the default vfo screen.

Nick
wb4sqi
Press ENT

G4EML
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:01 am

Re: Installation information

Post by G4EML » Mon May 23, 2022 12:45 pm

I have noticed that before. The settings update screen is the same one as for the GD77 and is a bit confusing on the MD9600. Maybe we need to either move the ‘OK’ next to ENT or accept P1.

Colin.

WB4SQI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:31 pm

Re: Installation information

Post by WB4SQI » Mon May 23, 2022 7:56 pm

Ent did the trick, P1 didn't do anything. Suffice to say, all is well. Now to refresh my tired old grey cells on CPS.

Thanks to all who helped and many thanks to the tireless individuals who made this possible.

Nick
WB4SQI

W8LDO
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2022 8:14 pm

Re: Installation information

Post by W8LDO » Wed May 25, 2022 1:08 am

My left arrow button on the openmd9600 does channel skip. The right button does it on my Opengd77. Are these buttons backwards?

Post Reply