Hello from a new DMR user

New users must post here first and let us know a little bit about yourself.
AK5DN

Hello from a new DMR user

Post by AK5DN » Sat Feb 10, 2024 4:41 pm

Thank you for letting me join your organization. I have been a ham for years, but just recently bought my first DMR radio. I got a TYT MD-UV390 Plus from Buy Two Way Radios. I've enjoyed learning how to program and use it, and I'm very interested in loading OpenGD77 firmware on it. I do have a couple of reservations that I'd like some advice on.

First, the website I bought it from says that changing the software on the radio will void my warranty. Have any of you had issues with a radio after changing the firmware and needing to use the warranty?

Second, I'm very new to flashing new firmware. If I mess it up, is there a way to go back to the original firmware?

Thank you for your time and patience

David
AK5DN

SA0BUX

Re: Hello from a new DMR user

Post by SA0BUX » Sat Feb 10, 2024 5:31 pm

AK5DN wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2024 4:41 pm
Thank you for letting me join your organization. I have been a ham for years, but just recently bought my first DMR radio. I got a TYT MD-UV390 Plus from Buy Two Way Radios. I've enjoyed learning how to program and use it, and I'm very interested in loading OpenGD77 firmware on it. I do have a couple of reservations that I'd like some advice on.

First, the website I bought it from says that changing the software on the radio will void my warranty. Have any of you had issues with a radio after changing the firmware and needing to use the warranty?

Second, I'm very new to flashing new firmware. If I mess it up, is there a way to go back to the original firmware?

Thank you for your time and patience

David
AK5DN
As you seems to have a "plus" radio you should not try to upgrade to Opengd77 until we have dissected the changed hardware and created some software that support the hardware.

AK5DN

Post by AK5DN » Sat Feb 10, 2024 6:48 pm