Hello from sunny southern California.

New users must post here first and let us know a little bit about yourself.
KO6CDG

Hello from sunny southern California.

Post by KO6CDG » Wed Dec 06, 2023 4:31 pm

Hi there!

I am a newly licensed ham; I have as of this moment only transmitted twice from my radios. Although I have existed on the periphery of radio communications for a while: as a software engineer at a telecommunications company and later at aerospace company operating synthetic aperture radar systems in orbit.

I was pleasantly surprised that many of the random bits of information that I picked up from my day jobs were things needed for the Technician Class license. And I am now in the process of reading up for my General Class.

My actual path to the hobby and here is meandering and wandering. But might make for an interesting read and be a good way to share some more details about myself. As I mentioned above I'm a software engineer, I'm also an open source advocate with a long interest in data encoding, compression and encryption.

So on that note (which will eventually get back to radio): A form of unbreakable "perfect" encryption is called one-time pad: it involves sharing single-use pre-shared keys equal in size to the messages (think sheets of paper with random numbers and letters). Because the keys are entirely random: cryptanalysis would be impossible. So during the cold war countries would give these pads to diplomats and spies. Then use radio "number stations" to send messages that would be decoded using the pads.

To outside observers receiving number station transmissions: the transmissions appear liminal, in an eerie, forlorn, often surreal sense. Which has resulted in number station recordings and samples (from the Conet Project) working their way into music and movies. An early example being Wilco's best-selling 2001 album "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" (which is where I first learned of them) and has been followed by countless other acts.