A couple of newbie questions

New users must post here first and let us know a little bit about yourself.
K0WKA

A couple of newbie questions

Post by K0WKA » Fri Jan 06, 2023 5:52 pm

Hi guys. A newbie here, not that much of a ham (although callsign is real), just love meddling with things. First post here, have couple questions that better belong to other sub-forums, hopefully someone would see them...

1. I'm very excited about TYT MD-UV380 alpha firmware. Question - are the sources currently available? Any chance to see them and possibly to contribute?

2. Probably a question to Roger - The F.A.Q. states that SFR repeater mode is impossible to implement on current hardware (specifically C6000/AT1846S). Why???
The C6000 datasheet explicitly claims support for SFR repeater mode AND full duplex mode as well. My understanding is that we just have to switch transceiver from rx to tx on timeslot interrupt (and we have the whole 2.5 msec to do this). What's the problem?

Thanks in advance!

VK3KYY

Re: A couple of newbie questions

Post by VK3KYY » Fri Jan 06, 2023 7:43 pm

K0WKA wrote:
Fri Jan 06, 2023 5:52 pm
Hi guys. A newbie here, not that much of a ham (although callsign is real), just love meddling with things. First post here, have couple questions that better belong to other sub-forums, hopefully someone would see them...

1. I'm very excited about TYT MD-UV380 alpha firmware. Question - are the sources currently available? Any chance to see them and possibly to contribute?

2. Probably a question to Roger - The F.A.Q. states that SFR repeater mode is impossible to implement on current hardware (specifically C6000/AT1846S). Why???
The C6000 datasheet explicitly claims support for SFR repeater mode AND full duplex mode as well. My understanding is that we just have to switch transceiver from rx to tx on timeslot interrupt (and we have the whole 2.5 msec to do this). What's the problem?

Thanks in advance!