[Won't implement] Menu TIMEOUT

Post Reply
User avatar
EB3AM
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:40 pm
Location: Catalonia, not Spain
Contact:

[Won't implement] Menu TIMEOUT

Post by EB3AM » Tue Feb 11, 2020 12:41 am

Timeout in the menus, so they return to the normal screen in case they are not handled for a while.

:oops:
Jordi, EB3AM, Talarn JN02ke, Catalonia.

VK3KYY
Posts: 1969
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Menu TIMEOUT

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Feb 19, 2020 10:09 pm

I don't think this will be implemented, because we have a lot of users who would find this confusing.

This is also the reason why the backlight is defaulted to permanently On, because we have many users can't see very well and also can only operate the menu's slowly, and don't expect the menu's to change by themselves.

I'm not entirely sure why the official firmware does this. Its not a normal user interface feature that I have seen on any other amateur radios. e.g. I don't think my FT-991 closes the menu if I don't use them.

User avatar
4I1RAC
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:25 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: [Won't implement] Menu TIMEOUT

Post by 4I1RAC » Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:45 am

I guess a more useful feature would be keylock timeout.
Angelo, 4I1RAC / N2RAC
Brandmeister Philippines support team
Talkgroups
- 51518 crosslinked to DX1ARM 431.600 MHz Fusion repeater, Metro Manila
- 98977 Opengd77
- 515 Philippines

https://n2rac.com

Post Reply