Force hotspot mode

Post Reply
jobdone
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 8:16 pm

Force hotspot mode

Post by jobdone » Sun Apr 19, 2020 8:27 pm

I have a friend who has 2 77's , one has the buttons stopped working , rather than taking it apart , he wants to use 1 as a hotspot, however we cannot force the radio into hotspot mode. I remember the old versions you could force by holding the black button down whilst powering on. What was the last version that supported this or is there another work around? I ask this because he tells me he doesn't have any torx drivers to do the job.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 828
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Force hotspot mode

Post by F1RMB » Sun Apr 19, 2020 9:13 pm

Hi,
jobdone wrote:
Sun Apr 19, 2020 8:27 pm
I have a friend who has 2 77's , one has the buttons stopped working , rather than taking it apart , he wants to use 1 as a hotspot, however we cannot force the radio into hotspot mode. I remember the old versions you could force by holding the black button down whilst powering on. What was the last version that supported this or is there another work around? I ask this because he tells me he doesn't have any torx drivers to do the job.
SK1 and power ON sets the hotspot to MMDVM mode.
SK1+PTT and power ON sets the hotspot to BlueDV more.
SK2 and power ON resets the settings and sets the hotspot to MMDVM mode.

Cheers
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

jobdone
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 8:16 pm

Re: Force hotspot mode

Post by jobdone » Mon Apr 20, 2020 9:08 pm

Hi, Thanks for the reply. I wasn't sure that still worked, but my friend managed to find a torx in his toolbox and managed to get inside the 77 to clean and reseat the cable. all good!

Post Reply