VHF on Hotspot

g0anv
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:14 pm
Location: Cambridge UK

VHF on Hotspot

Post by g0anv » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:18 pm

I have been using my GD77 Hotspot successfully on UHF.
Yesterday i tried to use it on VHF. It locks up and the PI dashboard (Pistar4.10 RC6) shows TX, but there is no transmission from network.
So today i updated to the latest FW. I can do one successful Parrot test on BM then it again locks up.
Is anyone else experiencing this when running VHF?
73 de G0ANV

VK3KYY
Posts: 1612
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by VK3KYY » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:26 pm

There is no technical difference between VHF and UHF but there is a lockup issue when the hotspot has not been active for a while

The bug fix is still on the To Do list, but currently there are higher priority bugs

g0anv
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:14 pm
Location: Cambridge UK

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by g0anv » Mon Dec 02, 2019 11:53 pm

Thanks fer the reply Roger.
I didn't think that there shud be any difference between Bands?
Understood about to do list.
It does seem to lock up almost straight after start up , but not on UHF
Daryl. G0 ANV

VK3KYY
Posts: 1612
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by VK3KYY » Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:50 am

Its strange its locking up.

But there are definitely some RF calibration things we need to resolve which seem to affect VHF more than UHF

g0fvt
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:25 pm

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by g0fvt » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:57 pm

Hi all, for what it is worth my experience seems to be exactly the same as the OP, on VHF it appears to lock up almost immediately, the actual Pi "dashboard" seems to freeze showing the last station as though they were on continuous transmit, along with the red LED on the Pi illuminating.
I only set it up this evening so very early days. On UHF it seems to be quite "happy" relaying TG91 as I write this. The functionality is very impressive, thank you for the efforts in producing this. 73s David G0FVT

VK3KYY
Posts: 1612
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:00 am

g0fvt wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:57 pm
Hi all, for what it is worth my experience seems to be exactly the same as the OP, on VHF it appears to lock up almost immediately, the actual Pi "dashboard" seems to freeze showing the last station as though they were on continuous transmit, along with the red LED on the Pi illuminating.
I only set it up this evening so very early days. On UHF it seems to be quite "happy" relaying TG91 as I write this. The functionality is very impressive, thank you for the efforts in producing this. 73s David G0FVT
This is a really old thread.

Which version of the firmware are you running

g0fvt
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:25 pm

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by g0fvt » Sat Jan 18, 2020 9:35 pm

Sorry, I have just downloaded a new OpenGD77 firmware (I suspect that the version I initially installed was out of date). The version I was running before needed the button below the PTT held in on power up, this one doesn't. I will see how I get on. I prefer to operate the Hotspot on the NOV section of 2m (146-147). I will give it another try, sorry if I have misled anyone.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by F1RMB » Sat Jan 18, 2020 9:41 pm

Hi,
g0fvt wrote:
Sat Jan 18, 2020 9:35 pm
Sorry, I have just downloaded a new OpenGD77 firmware (I suspect that the version I initially installed was out of date). The version I was running before needed the button below the PTT held in on power up, this one doesn't. I will see how I get on. I prefer to operate the Hotspot on the NOV section of 2m (146-147). I will give it another try, sorry if I have misled anyone.
You need to go into Options settings, and enable the hotspot there. You can choose between MMDVM and BlueDV support.

Cheers.
73 de Daniel.

g0fvt
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:25 pm

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by g0fvt » Mon Jan 20, 2020 2:08 pm

Thank you, for the information, I did not know those options were there! 73

Vk4alf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:32 am

Re: VHF on Hotspot

Post by Vk4alf » Fri Feb 07, 2020 11:02 pm

i changed to VHF from UHF and experienced the PI locking up
It turned out to be RF getting into the program cable
a few loops through a ferrite core fixed all my issues
Len VK4ALF
edit : i run 1w into an external antenna

Post Reply