Addition power settings?

VK3KYY
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Jan 30, 2020 12:17 am

I had another thought, that there could be a "user" power setting, where the operator would need to enter the PA drive value into the Options screen for this setting.

However, I think this would probably be too much complication for most people.

And we could add a 5W+ setting which would set the PA drive value to its maximum, but this could potentially overheat the PA FET if people used for a long period.

I would hope that for Ham radio use, people should take responsibility for what power levels they use, but I think a lot of operators are not interested in the technical aspects of the radio and perhaps would not consider the implications of driving the PA beyond its normal limits.

It reminds me of https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Up_to_eleven

User avatar
4I1RAC
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:25 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by 4I1RAC » Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:11 am

50 mW would be useful when very close to the hotspot. but I think retaining 750 mW would still be useful as an increment.
Angelo, 4I1RAC / N2RAC
Brandmeister Philippines support team
Talkgroups
- 51518 crosslinked to DX1ARM 431.600 MHz Fusion repeater, Metro Manila
- 98977 Opengd77
- 515 Philippines

https://n2rac.com

IK8JHL
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by IK8JHL » Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:49 am

As already explained by Roger, the power increases are not linear and are not the same on all radios, for example I measured the power between 4W and 5W with my rohde schwarz CMT 54, and the power difference is a few mW .. .so I think it is better to have well-differentiated steps eg 50mW, 250mW, 500mW, 1W, 2W, 3W, 5W, 6W

User avatar
F1CXG
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:24 am
Location: GRENOBLE (France)

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by F1CXG » Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:17 am

An example of power before and after calibration...
.
.
cal.png
cal.png (15.07 KiB) Viewed 140 times
73 de Thierry ;)

VK3KYY
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:55 am

Thanks Thierry

I've looked at the code the calculates the power, between 1W and 5W and also just recalibrated my radio and the power seems more accurate for me.

But I have found a potential problem bug in the code which may make calibrating more difficult, which I have fixed in the firmware which I have attached.

I calibrated on UHF for 439Mhz, and achieved these values

1W = 1.0W
2W = 2.0W
3W = 3.2W
4W = 4.2W
5W = 5.0W

So for me is only the 3W and the 4W which are a little too high.


To calibrate the power.

Set the radio to 1W, then in the CPS adjust the Lower Power value until the radio outputs 1W
Then set the radio to 5W and adjust the High Power value in the CPS until the radio outputs 5W

Note. If after you set to 1W and 5W, turn your radio off and on again to save the current settings.
(Or there is a secret developer button sequence Black + Blue key which saves the current settings immediately)

If everyone's radio behaves like the one I am using for testing, then I can change the code that calculates the 3W and 4W value to slightly lower the value by around 5% those settings.
Attachments
opengd77_202001312046_power_calibration.sgl
(477.06 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

IK8JHL
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by IK8JHL » Thu Jan 30, 2020 12:11 pm

OK in the evening i recalibrate all and i can check ( Mu Fuse +1)

IK8JHL
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by IK8JHL » Thu Jan 30, 2020 12:46 pm

VK3KYY wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:55 am
Thanks Thierry

I've looked at the code the calculates the power, between 1W and 5W and also just recalibrated my radio and the power seems more accurate for me.

But I have found a potential problem bug in the code which may make calibrating more difficult, which I have fixed in the firmware which I have attached.

I calibrated on UHF for 439Mhz, and achieved these values

1W = 1.0W
2W = 2.0W
3W = 3.2W
4W = 4.2W
5W = 5.0W

So for me is only the 3W and the 4W which are a little too high.


To calibrate the power.

Set the radio to 1W, then in the CPS adjust the Lower Power value until the radio outputs 1W
Then set the radio to 5W and adjust the High Power value in the CPS until the radio outputs 5W

Note. If after you set to 1W and 5W, turn your radio off and on again to save the current settings.
(Or there is a secret developer button sequence Black + Blue key which saves the current settings immediately)

If everyone's radio behaves like the one I am using for testing, then I can change the code that calculates the 3W and 4W value to slightly lower the value by around 5% those settings.
What is the supply voltage you used for calibrations? 7,4 ? or you use battery?

KB8AOB
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 7:44 pm
Location: West Virginia

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by KB8AOB » Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:07 pm

I would certainly try and probably use a 50 or 100 mW setting as my hotspot now reports RSSI of S9+40 dB at a distance of 10 meters with 250 mW. Plus, I sport a pacemaker-defibrillator so it would make my doc happier.
--
Rich KB8AOB
West Virginia USA

IK8JHL
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by IK8JHL » Thu Jan 30, 2020 6:22 pm

This is my value
Attachments
Cattura.JPG
Cattura.JPG (27.76 KiB) Viewed 84 times

VK3KYY
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Addition power settings?

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:08 pm

IK8JHL wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 6:22 pm
This is my value
Thanks.

It looks like the shape of the power curve on everyone’s radios is a bit different.

On UHF, it looks like I need to adjust the parameters to reduce the power a little on the 3 and 4W and possibly lower the 2W a little.

But I would need to see what values other people have

Post Reply