Update 4th Feb

IK8JHL
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by IK8JHL » Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:34 am

Really are the OM who do not modify it, I added the Name
Attachments
Cattura.JPG
Cattura.JPG (56.2 KiB) Viewed 203 times

F6GVE
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by F6GVE » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:17 am

I have upgraded again with this last version of the firmware, after having backuped the EEPROM, the Flash and the codeplug.
This time I do not have the bug that I spoke about...

I go on using it for testing

73
Luc

F6GVE
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by F6GVE » Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:25 pm

Tested all the day long, and all has worked (well) as habitually (not tested the hotspot function)

Luc

DG3GSP
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:30 am
Location: Germany

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by DG3GSP » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:16 pm

Tested the 4th Feb update: works flawless for me - Thanks.

Just to make a proposal or to be up for discussion: how about to cancel the 5W++ powerlevel? Its possibly not good or even dangerous for the PA.
Was the increase of TXPower that risk really worth?

Alternatively - how about a setting in the CPS to enable/disenable the 5W++ powerlevel?
73, Peter DG3GSP

VK3KYY
Posts: 1631
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:25 pm

DG3GSP wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:16 pm
Tested the 4th Feb update: works flawless for me - Thanks.

Just to make a proposal or to be up for discussion: how about to cancel the 5W++ powerlevel? Its possibly not good or even dangerous for the PA.
Was the increase of TXPower that risk really worth?

Alternatively - how about a setting in the CPS to enable/disenable the 5W++ powerlevel?
Yes. Perhaps I will remove the 5W++. As I don’t think many people want it.

User avatar
m1dyp
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Hertfordshire, U.K.

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by m1dyp » Wed Feb 05, 2020 9:51 pm

VK3KYY wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:25 pm
Yes. Perhaps I will remove the 5W++. As I don’t think many people want it.
I have to agree, not worth the risk :D
73 de Ken :D

VK3KYY
Posts: 1631
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:03 pm

I've removed it from the source code (actually its just disabled).

So it will not be in the next release

User avatar
4I1RAC
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:25 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by 4I1RAC » Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:03 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:03 pm
I've removed it from the source code (actually its just disabled).

So it will not be in the next release
Can it be perhaps set in the Options (like how band limits can be turned on)? Maybe an option for "expanded" power options for the 50 mW and 5++ W?
Angelo, 4I1RAC / N2RAC
Brandmeister Philippines support team
Talkgroups
- 51518 crosslinked to DX1ARM 431.600 MHz Fusion repeater, Metro Manila
- 98977 Opengd77
- 515 Philippines

https://n2rac.com

VK3KYY
Posts: 1631
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:45 am

4I1RAC wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:03 am
VK3KYY wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:03 pm
I've removed it from the source code (actually its just disabled).

So it will not be in the next release
Can it be perhaps set in the Options (like how band limits can be turned on)? Maybe an option for "expanded" power options for the 50 mW and 5++ W?
I think the options are getting very complicated.

I think the 50mW is no risk, so we can keep it.

For the 5W++ power (i.e max drive). There may still be some way to have it, but perhaps requiring some more key presses.

I did consider changing things, so that if the operator kept pressing Function + Right arrow , perhaps 5 times when the power was already 5W, that it would then set to 5W++. i.e like an Easter egg function, (but a documented one)

DL2MF
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:26 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Update 4th Feb

Post by DL2MF » Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:14 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:45 am
...
I did consider changing things, so that if the operator kept pressing Function + Right arrow , perhaps 5 times when the power was already 5W, that it would then set to 5W++. i.e like an Easter egg function, (but a documented one)
Suggest, when in 5W mode -> Function + Long keypress Right arrow

73 Mike

Post Reply