Localistion support (foreign languages)

VK3KYY
Posts: 2417
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by VK3KYY » Sat Mar 14, 2020 1:11 am

Some texts are too long e.g.

.last_heard = "Posledni volajici", // MaxLen: 16
is 17 chars but the screen is only 16 wide

.display_options = "Nastaveni displeje", // MaxLen: 16
is 18 chars

.user_dmr_id = "ID Uzivatele DMR", // MaxLen: 15
16 chars not 15

Can you shorten these to the max length as shown in the MaxLen for these items

Note. There may be other items which are too long, but items were definitely wrong.

User avatar
OK2HAD
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:10 pm
Location: Uherský Brod (Czech Republic)

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by OK2HAD » Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:41 am

VK3KYY wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 1:11 am
Some texts are too long e.g.

.last_heard = "Posledni hovory", // MaxLen: 16


.display_options = "NastaveniDisplay", // MaxLen: 16


.user_dmr_id = "Uziv. DMR ID", // MaxLen: 15
16 chars not 15
fixed
73 de František

VK3KYY
Posts: 2417
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by VK3KYY » Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:57 am

OK2HAD wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:41 am

fixed
What do you mean "Fixed"

You have not uploaded an updated file.

User avatar
OK2HAD
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:10 pm
Location: Uherský Brod (Czech Republic)

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by OK2HAD » Sun Mar 15, 2020 12:22 pm

VK3KYY wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:57 am
OK2HAD wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:41 am

fixed
What do you mean "Fixed"

You have not uploaded an updated file.

Fixet, update
Attachments
czech.zip
(2.75 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
73 de František

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by F1RMB » Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:10 pm

Hi František,
OK2HAD wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 12:22 pm
VK3KYY wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:57 am
OK2HAD wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:41 am

fixed
What do you mean "Fixed"

You have not uploaded an updated file.

Fixet, update
I raised a PR for Czech support.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by F1RMB » Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:12 pm

F1RMB wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:10 pm
Hi František,
OK2HAD wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 12:22 pm
VK3KYY wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 4:57 am


What do you mean "Fixed"

You have not uploaded an updated file.

Fixet, update
I raised a PR for Czech support.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
BTW, you didn't used accented characters. FYI, the firmware handles many, so if you want, you can submit here the same file, UTF-8 encoded, with the accented version.


Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
OK2HAD
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:10 pm
Location: Uherský Brod (Czech Republic)

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by OK2HAD » Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:02 am

BTW, you didn't used accented characters. FYI, the firmware handles many, so if you want, you can submit here the same file, UTF-8 encoded, with the accented version.


Cheers.
---
Daniel
[/quote]

Hi, in the first versions we will test first how the exact translation will be without diacritics. If it suits the users who will test, we will try to upgrade to a version that will contain diacritics. More tells us when we can see directly on the radio how much the menu will match the functions. Can we talk like this?
73 de František

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by F1RMB » Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:22 am

Hi František,
F1RMB wrote:
OK2HAD wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:02 am
BTW, you didn't used accented characters. FYI, the firmware handles many, so if you want, you can submit here the same file, UTF-8 encoded, with the accented version.


Cheers.
---
Daniel
Hi, in the first versions we will test first how the exact translation will be without diacritics. If it suits the users who will test, we will try to upgrade to a version that will contain diacritics. More tells us when we can see directly on the radio how much the menu will match the functions. Can we talk like this?
Yes, it's up to you anyway ;)
Just keep in mind that I need an UTF-8 encoded file, as I need to convert the text to a non standard encoding, already used in Polish and Turkish translations.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
OK2HAD
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:10 pm
Location: Uherský Brod (Czech Republic)

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by OK2HAD » Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:42 am

F1RMB wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:22 am
Hi František,
F1RMB wrote:
OK2HAD wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:02 am
BTW, you didn't used accented characters. FYI, the firmware handles many, so if you want, you can submit here the same file, UTF-8 encoded, with the accented version.


Cheers.
---
Daniel
Hi, in the first versions we will test first how the exact translation will be without diacritics. If it suits the users who will test, we will try to upgrade to a version that will contain diacritics. More tells us when we can see directly on the radio how much the menu will match the functions. Can we talk like this?
Yes, it's up to you anyway ;)
Just keep in mind that I need an UTF-8 encoded file, as I need to convert the text to a non standard encoding, already used in Polish and Turkish translations.

Cheers.
---
Daniel

59/5000
I tried to edit the file and add diacritics.
Attachments
czech2.zip
(2.86 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
73 de František

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Localistion support (foreign languages)

Post by F1RMB » Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:06 am

Hi František,
OK2HAD wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:42 am
F1RMB wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:22 am
Hi František,
F1RMB wrote:

Hi, in the first versions we will test first how the exact translation will be without diacritics. If it suits the users who will test, we will try to upgrade to a version that will contain diacritics. More tells us when we can see directly on the radio how much the menu will match the functions. Can we talk like this?
Yes, it's up to you anyway ;)
Just keep in mind that I need an UTF-8 encoded file, as I need to convert the text to a non standard encoding, already used in Polish and Turkish translations.

Cheers.
---
Daniel

59/5000
I tried to edit the file and add diacritics.
Okay. I just need to add two missing glyphs, then I will post a build with your updated translation.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

Post Reply