Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

User avatar
m1dyp
Posts: 464
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Hertfordshire, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by m1dyp » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:24 pm

Thank you
73 de Ken :D

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by KU4ZD » Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:04 pm

I am having a problem with local repeaters (my hotspot works fine). The issue is the TG only showing TG0 (or last Heard if I switch over to my hot spot and make a contact, that contact becomes the last heard). However, after turning the radio off then back on all I can get it the TG0 showing up.

These repeaters are Nebraska MotoTRBO network DMR MARC. I am having eh problem using both a channel from my cps and a VFO channel.
I have cleaned up my CPS, I have reloaded my ID contacts, cleaned up my contact database with no change. I am having this problem on two radios. When I load the factory firmware it works as expected, when a station is received the station call or DMR Id are displayed as normal and the talk group, not jut TG0 with no ID

I have tried to write a fresh, new Code Plug and also import a new set of ID's. I have also adjusted some of the settings to try to improve sensitivity but that did not help
Last edited by KU4ZD on Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:22 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Mike KU4ZD

SV3IBF
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:53 am

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by SV3IBF » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:17 pm

I have successfully installed the latest TIER2 version (17 Nov) but I am missing the power adjustment menu.
I have searched into OPTIONS menu but it is not visible?
I am doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance for you help
73 de SV3IBF

SP2ONG
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:47 am

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by SP2ONG » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:30 pm

Please read:

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=43&sid=e353a1cd3267 ... 61f3fd#p82

in hotspot moede you can set level of power otput by seting in Pi-Star dashboard MMDVMhost in expert mode
SV3IBF wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:17 pm
I have successfully installed the latest TIER2 version (17 Nov) but I am missing the power adjustment menu.
I have searched into OPTIONS menu but it is not visible?
Last edited by SP2ONG on Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LB9AB
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:08 am

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by LB9AB » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:33 pm

SV3IBF wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:17 pm
I have successfully installed the latest TIER2 version (17 Nov) but I am missing the power adjustment menu.
I have searched into OPTIONS menu but it is not visible?
I am doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance for you help
73 de SV3IBF
Is not in the option menu..
Push and hold blue button and use left/right arrow keys to adjust power level :-)
Regards
LB9AB
http://www.jadahl.com

User avatar
m1dyp
Posts: 464
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Hertfordshire, U.K.
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by m1dyp » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:33 pm

all good here thank you
73 de Ken :D

IW6CNM
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:57 am

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by IW6CNM » Tue Nov 19, 2019 10:36 am

HI
maybe i'm off topics :geek:
I see min power now is 250 mw , is it possible reduce to few mills..

tnx
de iw6cnm

VK3KYY
Posts: 3192
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by VK3KYY » Tue Nov 19, 2019 10:46 am

Its on the To Do list to make this as flexible as the old hotpot mode, but I changed the way the power is handled in the Tier 2 version to be in steps and it was easier for me to get the hotspot working, to just calculate out the approximate step for each % power setting

The problem is really that the power curve is only relatively linear between 1W and 5W.

Below 1W the power curve is exponential.

To get the 250, 500 and 750mW settings relatively accurate, I subtract fixed values below the calibration PA drive value for 1W (where the raw value is normally around 1600 )

If someone could work out an equation of % power -> PA drive value, it would be great , as we could use it for the hotspot

BTW. I did consider adding some more power options e.g 50mW and also 5W+ (i.e drive the PA to the Max)

IW6CNM
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:57 am

Re: Hotspot mode 0.0.72 etc

Post by IW6CNM » Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:08 pm

thanks Roger

i very appreciate your job
thanks again
de iw6cnm

Post Reply