Page 6 of 6

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 9:35 pm
by jobdone
Hi, My s/n both start 1709A and do not have the FCC ID on them , in place it says 136-174MHz and 400-470MHz. I have had mine for a couple of years so I assume yours are newer. Just looked it up , I purchased mine in Oct and Nov 2017 via Amazon. With that logic does that mean the first digits are the year and possibly month of manufacture? i.e yours are jan 2019 and mine Aug 2017?

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:15 am
by prattmd
Tried the newest opengd77 CPS
My radio serial must be old, 1705A series

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:29 pm
by jrd210
Had the same write error as the first post on my Windows 10 Desktop, reloaded everything straight to a Windows 10 laptop and success first time--weird error, ports were low numbers??? No idea what the problem is but it is now working fine (on my laptop).

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:39 pm
by jrd210
Follow up--it did not run on the windows 10 64bit computer but ran fine on the windows 10 32 bit laptop--????

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 12:33 am
by VK3KYY
jrd210 wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:39 pm
Follow up--it did not run on the windows 10 64bit computer but ran fine on the windows 10 32 bit laptop--????
Lots of people are running it on W10 x64. The problem does not seem to be related to W10, either 32 or 64 bit.

Some people find they have to use a different USB port, so the problem is possibly in the driver that does not support some newer USB hardware.

I didn't write the driver. Its from a project called LibWDI

https://github.com/pbatard/libwdi

The installer I'm using was compiled ages ago by someone else, and I guess I should attempt to rebuild it, but its not top of my very long To Do list as it works for 99% of people

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 3:13 pm
by jrd210
Thx for all your excellent work BTW and the comment----I kind of figured it was not likely to be just that difference of 32 to 64, so back to strange port choices!!

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:04 am
by jobdone
I've recently seen a similar problem which returned a .NET error (not on my machine). When the op repaired his .NET install with the fix tool all was fixed. anyone else seen similar issues....