Page 5 of 6

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 11:29 pm
by KB8AOB
I too have had this problem and note the same errors as listed. I am so uncertain of my CP that it may be causing the issue but would like try a known good CP with basic setup with my system to rule that problem in or out... Could you post a clean simple CP that is know to work...

Rich

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 11:44 pm
by VK3KYY
KB8AOB wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 11:29 pm
I too have had this problem and note the same errors as listed. I am so uncertain of my CP that it may be causing the issue but would like try a known good CP with basic setup with my system to rule that problem in or out... Could you post a clean simple CP that is know to work...

Rich
Just try the default codeplug you get by pressing the New button in the CPS. That loads OK for me.

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 8:45 pm
by jobdone
well so far the only solution we've seen is the upgrading of the CPS. so what version are you using?

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 2:27 am
by prattmd
The one referenced in the FAQ with the driver is one I have tried
I also tried the dev version in the google drive in this thread

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 3:16 am
by VK3KYY
prattmd wrote:
Thu Jan 02, 2020 2:27 am
The one referenced in the FAQ with the driver is one I have tried
I also tried the dev version in the google drive in this thread
Did you try the OpenGD77 only version

https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/ ... taller.exe

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 5:40 pm
by jobdone
I have been trying to recreate this issue for a while now , without any luck. I notice though that most people who seem to have this issue are using high com port numbers. I.e they have ports 1+2 by default and their systems have used 3 and 4 before and so have been allocated ports 5 and upwards. So out of interest if anyone has this issue , please can they post which com port is being used by GD-77 and how many others are also showing in use on their system.

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:55 pm
by VK3KYY
My port number is normally 71, so I don’t think this is related to the port number

Re: Code plug read/write error fixed?

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:16 am
by KB8AOB
Not sure what did it but I got a new blank cp to write to the radio. I used the cps new command to write with a fresh download of the open cps software (did I notice a recent update?) and it went the first time! I then downloaded the cp, modified it a bit and uploaded again with no problems.

Now wondering if I was using the “stock” cp modified by the open cps software to upload before??? :shock:

Rich

Re: Code plug read/write error fixed?

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:35 am
by VK3KYY
KB8AOB wrote:
Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:16 am
Not sure what did it but I got a new blank cp to write to the radio. I used the cps new command to write with a fresh download of the open cps software (did I notice a recent update?) and it went the first time! I then downloaded the cp, modified it a bit and uploaded again with no problems.

Now wondering if I was using the “stock” cp modified by the open cps software to upload before??? :shock:

Rich
Potentially this could be a problem if the EEPROM does not respond fast enough and perhaps causes the USB to timeout.

Is this an old or a new radio ? There were issues with very old GD-77 radios, where we think they fitted cheaper / clone EEPROM chips which seem to be slower.

We also think this is the reason that the official firmware gets amnesia and doesnt remember which channel the radio was left on, as the official firmware probably doesn't bother to check whether the data has actually been written, especially when the radio is turned off.

Re: Code plug read/write error

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:37 pm
by KB8AOB
New I assume, see image. The com port was 5 in the past but it did not even pause to ask or display.
Image