New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

VK3KYY
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:13 pm

Some people have reported that the CPS is not automatically detecting the OpenGD77 even though the drivers are clearly loaded etc

So I've produced a version which displays a com port selector popup if the OpenGD77 cant be found

I'd appreciate it if anyone could give this version a try, even if the do not have this problem, because need to confirm that the new changes don't break the existing functionality

The new test version of the CPS is here.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Z5ry0 ... -3NJheHEIA

User avatar
m1dyp
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Hertfordshire, U.K.

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by m1dyp » Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:21 pm

hi, i dont have the com port problem, but read/write code plug and upload firmware seem to work fine
73 de Ken :D

VK3KYY
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:23 pm

Ken

Thanks for testing

You'll find that if you don't have the GD77 connected and try to open the OpenGD77 support feature, it will ask you for a com port each time

But I mainly wanted to confirm I'd not broken anything

redriver
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Turin - Italy

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by redriver » Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:43 am

Hi, no port issue, but the new cps version works well.
Thanks,
Alessandro
IU1KDS

n7rde
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:34 pm

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by n7rde » Fri Nov 22, 2019 6:04 pm

auto com port selection still works fine (win7) ether "program/read" or "extras/opengd77 support"

Without the radio attached "extras/opengd77 support" did prompt for com port but "program/read" did not

Ron N7RDE

VK3KYY
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by VK3KYY » Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:48 pm

Thanks

That’s how it’s supposed to work.

My pc has a phantom COM1 which doesn’t exist on the hardware and I can select this to test for what happens when I try to use an invalid Com port number , and I tried to make it display an error message rathe than to hang or crash

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by KU4ZD » Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:04 pm

I do not have a com port issue but the new version of the CPS works well, I have not had any problems with it
Mike KU4ZD

ON3XD
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by ON3XD » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:40 pm

Can not say that there is a problem i used the last cps and not a problem.
Thanks a lot for the nice work.

ok2jiq
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:38 pm

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by ok2jiq » Tue Nov 26, 2019 7:06 pm

Still the same situation is not communicating with Open software, maybe I have a bad cable. Hello everyone VY73! Jirka OK2JIQ

ok2zar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:49 pm

Re: New CPS with OpenGD77 Com port selector

Post by ok2zar » Thu Nov 28, 2019 4:47 pm

ok2jiq wrote:
Tue Nov 26, 2019 7:06 pm
Still the same situation is not communicating with Open software, maybe I have a bad cable. Hello everyone VY73! Jirka OK2JIQ
I've solved the issue by installing English Win7 to virtual machine and everything works fine. There is issue somewhere inside Czech Windows and I haven't been able to find-out root-cause so using English Windows is easiest way to read/program radio.

Post Reply