Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 825
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:12 pm

Hi Marc,
kd2lh wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:25 pm
A quick note .This last debug version has been running for several hours with both local RF and VOIP Brandmeister network originated voice activity without errors.

I'm going to switch from a Raspberry Pi Zero W to a Pi 4B to see if the faster hardware makes any difference.

Marc
Cool ! :)

I've made some fixes and enhancements since then, and found something "funny" (as it may explain your ghost TXing things):
my MD-390 has GPS on, but without fix (indoor), and it sends a frame from time to time. I've filtered out TG or PC equal to 0, but if I triggered, let say PC5000 on my other GD-77, after a while the hotspot react of the weird MD-390 frame, and the hotspot just send a 5000 request to BM (of course, hotspot is triggering the DMR lost message).

I need to investigate that, but tomorrow.

@Mike: I'm sorry, since I was still on these things, I didn't had time to check the BlueDV/TGIF problem.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by kd2lh » Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:02 pm

My TYT MD-380 does not have GPS available. I do have GPS on the Motorola XPR7550e, but it's turned off.

As mentioned, the last firmware has been working without problem for a few hours. I changed over to a Pi 4b and so far it also has been running without errors for about 90 minutes including both local RF traffic and VOIP from Brandmeister.

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by KU4ZD » Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:21 pm

No problem, when ever you have tome
F1RMB wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:12 pm
Hi Marc,
kd2lh wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:25 pm
A quick note .This last debug version has been running for several hours with both local RF and VOIP Brandmeister network originated voice activity without errors.

I'm going to switch from a Raspberry Pi Zero W to a Pi 4B to see if the faster hardware makes any difference.

Marc
Cool ! :)

I've made some fixes and enhancements since then, and found something "funny" (as it may explain your ghost TXing things):
my MD-390 has GPS on, but without fix (indoor), and it sends a frame from time to time. I've filtered out TG or PC equal to 0, but if I triggered, let say PC5000 on my other GD-77, after a while the hotspot react of the weird MD-390 frame, and the hotspot just send a 5000 request to BM (of course, hotspot is triggering the DMR lost message).

I need to investigate that, but tomorrow.

@Mike: I'm sorry, since I was still on these things, I didn't had time to check the BlueDV/TGIF problem.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
Mike KU4ZD

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by kd2lh » Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:01 am

It just indicated the RF user 0 Rejected error. It had been running over 5 hours before this error occurred. No DMR radio was operating locally at the time.

M: 2020-01-07 00:53:40.118 DMR Slot 2, received network end of voice transmission from KA1VSC to TG 31371, 8.7 seconds, 4% packet loss, BER: 0.0%
M: 2020-01-07 01:13:56.353 DMR Slot 2, RF user 0 rejected

The PiStar Dashboard is normal with TRX in Green "Listening"

The GD77 display has:
Blinking K 0x1
Q 0x3
SET_STATUS incrementing slowly 0 to 255
RX_PROCESS 0 incrementing fast 0 to 255
RX_Start 0 3 4 047
DMR_LOST 2 3 1 002

This was not frozen, and an incoming VOIP from Brandmeister for one of the talkgroups it's statically configured for worked.

And 13 hours after boot, it continues to operate.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 825
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:17 pm

Hi Marc,
kd2lh wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:01 am
It just indicated the RF user 0 Rejected error. It had been running over 5 hours before this error occurred. No DMR radio was operating locally at the time.

M: 2020-01-07 00:53:40.118 DMR Slot 2, received network end of voice transmission from KA1VSC to TG 31371, 8.7 seconds, 4% packet loss, BER: 0.0%
M: 2020-01-07 01:13:56.353 DMR Slot 2, RF user 0 rejected

The PiStar Dashboard is normal with TRX in Green "Listening"

The GD77 display has:
Blinking K 0x1
Q 0x3
SET_STATUS incrementing slowly 0 to 255
RX_PROCESS 0 incrementing fast 0 to 255
RX_Start 0 3 4 047
DMR_LOST 2 3 1 002

This was not frozen, and an incoming VOIP from Brandmeister for one of the talkgroups it's statically configured for worked.

And 13 hours after boot, it continues to operate.
I just heard you on 98977 ;)

Okay, here is the latest version (@Mike, I fixed the misconfigured radio bug, but I have another problem now :D ).
You should not see any "User 0" messages from MMDVMHost now.

I've added an option (in global Options submenu, to select hotspot type, between MMDVM / BlueDV.
MMDVM type is selected by default (and all settings will be reset to default, as I added this).


Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by KU4ZD » Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:43 pm

I heard Marc on the GD-77 talk group also
Yes, it looks like you fixed the misconfigured radio
problem on the BlueDV interface with TGIF, it seems
to be working now. Sorry it caused another problem
but hope you can figure that one out

Thank you for all your work, seems like this issue with
the hot spots has been a real hard one
Mike KU4ZD

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by kd2lh » Tue Jan 07, 2020 10:17 pm

Thanks for latest update. Will load it and get it started on the slower Pi Zero W PiStar.

Up and running now. I've been using it for about half an hour.

As of the next morning, it's been stable for about 12 hours.

Marc
Last edited by kd2lh on Wed Jan 08, 2020 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 825
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Wed Jan 08, 2020 6:20 am

Hi Mike,
KU4ZD wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:43 pm
I heard Marc on the GD-77 talk group also
Yes, it looks like you fixed the misconfigured radio
problem on the BlueDV interface with TGIF, it seems
to be working now. Sorry it caused another problem
but hope you can figure that one out

Thank you for all your work, seems like this issue with
the hot spots has been a real hard one
Do you mean it's working for you with BlueDV (RX and TX) ? Here, I have some problems, but it's running inside a VirtualBox VM.

Cheers.
---
Daniel

EDIT: I need to check with BlueDV on Android.
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by KU4ZD » Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:13 pm

Yes, it is working with bluedv on my pc both tx and rx. It also worked for me on my android phone but had to restart it a few times to get the rx to work.
Mike KU4ZD

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by KU4ZD » Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:14 pm

Yes, it is working with bluedv on my pc both tx and rx. It also worked for me on my android phone but had to restart it a few times to get the rx to work.
Mike KU4ZD

Post Reply