Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:07 pm

kd2lh wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:03 pm
Yes - all these recent tests have the RXOffset and TXOffset at 0 (zero).

Could the incidence of all this be related to squelch setting? I have it set roughly midway. Note that I'm on a reasonably isolated frequency for hotspot operation (one that I alternately share with a JumboSpot on the same frequency). The JumboSpot never indicates any similar RF events.

Marc
No, the squelch is not used in DMR.

What about your TRX ?.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by kd2lh » Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:30 pm

I'll need to watch when it hangs up again, but I think TRX has Not been in Red TX during the failure this time. Things remained locked up until my next local RF transmit.

Here are all the modem settings:

Modem
Port
/dev/ttyACM0
TXInvert
1
RXInvert
0
PTTInvert
0
TXDelay
100
RXOffset
0
TXOffset
0
DMRDelay
0
RXLevel
50
TXLevel
50
RXDCOffset
0
TXDCOffset
0
RFLevel
100
CWIdTXLevel
50
D-StarTXLevel
50
DMRTXLevel
50
YSFTXLevel
50
P25TXLevel
50
NXDNTXLevel
50
RSSIMappingFile
/usr/local/etc/RSSI.dat
Trace
0
Debug
0
POCSAGTXLevel
50

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:56 pm

Hi Mike,
KU4ZD wrote:
Sat Jan 04, 2020 5:04 pm
No worry, I just thought I would check. I know it is not the focus of what you are working on right now. I did gi back to the last standard release of the firmware and that does work fine.
Can you test this one to see if TGIF is happy again ?

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:57 pm

Hi Marc,
kd2lh wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:30 pm
I'll need to watch when it hangs up again, but I think TRX has Not been in Red TX during the failure this time. Things remained locked up until my next local RF transmit.

Here are all the modem settings:

Modem
Port
/dev/ttyACM0
TXInvert
1
RXInvert
0
PTTInvert
0
TXDelay
100
RXOffset
0
TXOffset
0
DMRDelay
0
RXLevel
50
TXLevel
50
RXDCOffset
0
TXDCOffset
0
RFLevel
100
CWIdTXLevel
50
D-StarTXLevel
50
DMRTXLevel
50
YSFTXLevel
50
P25TXLevel
50
NXDNTXLevel
50
RSSIMappingFile
/usr/local/etc/RSSI.dat
Trace
0
Debug
0
POCSAGTXLevel
50
Okay, thanks, but I was trusting you about the RX/TX offsets. I just want to know what is your transceiver, maybe I have the same, then I could check if I can trigger here the problem you have.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:00 pm

Marc,
F1RMB wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:57 pm
... snip, just to make you get a notification ;)
in the firmware I just posted above, I've increased the timeout value.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by KU4ZD » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:44 pm

Just tried this, I am still seeing the misconfigured radio errors with this release of firmware, sorry
F1RMB wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:56 pm
Hi Mike,
KU4ZD wrote:
Sat Jan 04, 2020 5:04 pm
No worry, I just thought I would check. I know it is not the focus of what you are working on right now. I did gi back to the last standard release of the firmware and that does work fine.
Can you test this one to see if TGIF is happy again ?

Cheers.
---
Daniel
Mike KU4ZD

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by F1RMB » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:48 pm

Okay Mike, I will check this tomorrow.
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
KU4ZD
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:47 pm
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contact:

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by KU4ZD » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:49 pm

Thank you sir
Mike KU4ZD

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by kd2lh » Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:10 am

F1RMB wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:57 pm
Hi Marc,

I'll need to watch when it hangs up again, but I think TRX has Not been in Red TX during the failure this time. Things remained locked up until my next local RF transmit.


Okay, thanks, but I was trusting you about the RX/TX offsets. I just want to know what is your transceiver, maybe I have the same, then I could check if I can trigger here the problem you have.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
Hi, I transmit to the OpenGD77 hotspot with both a TYT MD380 and a Motorola XPR 7550e. But at the time of these failures, I was not transmitting (the radios have been powered completely off). The receiver in the GD77 just looks like it briefly activated.

Marc

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot mode - Apparently stuck in TX

Post by kd2lh » Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:25 pm

A quick note .This last debug version has been running for several hours with both local RF and VOIP Brandmeister network originated voice activity without errors.

I'm going to switch from a Raspberry Pi Zero W to a Pi 4B to see if the faster hardware makes any difference.

Marc

Post Reply