Reset when scanning

User avatar
OH0KCE
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:44 am
Location: Aland-Islands

Reset when scanning

Post by OH0KCE » Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:29 am

Hi !
I when usin scan funktion my GD77 reset after c. 20-30 min ! Have done 3-4 times now
I'm using FW 4.feb 2020, and zone with 2FM and one DMR channel :?:

73 Leif OH0KCE
Greetings de Leif OH0KCE

ik7ejc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:17 am

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by ik7ejc » Mon Feb 10, 2020 12:07 pm

It does the same thing for me but every 5-10 minutes but only in HOLD mode. That is, the scan stops and emits initial melody. I am using the version of February 7 but it was also doing it with previous versions.
:x

Patrick ON4PN
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:29 pm

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by Patrick ON4PN » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:45 pm

Hello,

Same over here. While scanning it reboots at a variable time after the scan starts. I have two identical programmed GD77's they both reboot while scanning, but at different and variable times after a scan is initiated.
I noticed it from the last 5 version or so, using now version feb 10 2020 12:11:16.

73

Keep up the great work !

Patrick ON4PN

VK3KYY
Posts: 1656
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:16 am

This is something that will need to be investigated.

I was hoping that the recent changes by EA3IHI to improve some aspects of the scanning would have helped fix this bug, but it may have made things worse.

ea3ihi
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:28 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by ea3ihi » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:23 pm

I will try to reproduce the problem and review the code, unfortunately even if it can be reproduced there is a lot of guess work as the debug options are minimal. What would be the best way to send some information via the serial port?
EA3IHI - David

VK3KYY
Posts: 1656
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by VK3KYY » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:38 pm

I ran the scanner for several hours yesterday and it did not crash for me.

However I was only scanning a zone that just contained DMR channels.

The bug may only occur if scanning is for both FM and DMR.

I did notice the other day, that the code that uses the Segger RTT debug print, was reporting some bus conflicts on the I2C bus, and I am pretty sure that most of the bus conflicts are not being handled to mitigate the problem

EB3AM
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:40 pm
Location: Catalonia, not Spain
Contact:

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by EB3AM » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:21 am

I have a mixed zone, fm / dmr with several repeaters and simplex channels, both analog and digital. I scan often and never did anything strange.

VK3KYY
Posts: 1656
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:16 am

EB3AM wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:21 am
I have a mixed zone, fm / dmr with several repeaters and simplex channels, both analog and digital. I scan often and never did anything strange.
I scanned the All Channels Zone, which has FM and DMR , for about 1 hour , and it did not crash

Can the people who have this bug, please post their codeplug

AC7RX
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 6:00 am

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by AC7RX » Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:50 am

The "reset when scanning" occurs immediately upon entering scan mode if you lock out all channels in the group. The zone can be either analog, dmr, or combination of each.

Greg
AC7RX

VK3KYY
Posts: 1656
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Reset when scanning

Post by VK3KYY » Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:00 am

AC7RX wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:50 am
The "reset when scanning" occurs immediately upon entering scan mode if you lock out all channels in the group. The zone can be either analog, dmr, or combination of each.

Greg
AC7RX
OK.

I guess we need to do some sort of pre-scan check to make sure people are not doing anything silly.

Post Reply