Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by kd2lh » Mon Jan 27, 2020 4:15 pm

Noticed that after a voip network call has ended, the next incoming call first gets identified with the prior voice packet call sign, and then quickly gets updated to the current incoming call sign.

This should be blank until the current call lookup has completed.

It is blank between incoming calls.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 412
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by F1RMB » Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:05 pm

Hi Marc,
kd2lh wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 4:15 pm
Noticed that after a voip network call has ended, the next incoming call first gets identified with the prior voice packet call sign, and then quickly gets updated to the current incoming call sign.

This should be blank until the current call lookup has completed.

It is blank between incoming calls.
What is the hotspot version you're running ?

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by kd2lh » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:56 pm

It's the last 1/22 version file name opengd77_202001231943.sgl.

I am running a long term test (taking video of the display awaiting one of the auto restarts I've observed) but can stop the test and get the internal version code if needed.
Marc

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 412
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by F1RMB » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:27 am

Hi Mark,
kd2lh wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:56 pm
It's the last 1/22 version file name opengd77_202001231943.sgl.

I am running a long term test (taking video of the display awaiting one of the auto restarts I've observed) but can stop the test and get the internal version code if needed.
Marc
To get the hotspot version, press the black button while hotspot is running.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by kd2lh » Tue Jan 28, 2020 12:23 pm

Hitting the black button takes it out of Hotspot mode.

That just shows the active freq, CTSS status and Squelch status on my radio.

The other failure occurred last night, so I can use the menu.

Built 1/23/2020
10:03:40
[3bab51e]

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 412
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by F1RMB » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:38 pm

Hi Marc,
kd2lh wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 12:23 pm
Hitting the black button takes it out of Hotspot mode.

--snip/snip---
What ?!
No, there is definitely something wrong here. I see no reason for this.

Sorry, I can't remember, but if your using Pi-Star, but the only reason the could make the hotspot to stops, and put the GD back to Channel/VFO is (and only) when MMDVMHost stops to communicate, for 10s (if hotspot mode is set to MMDVM, as it should, and not BlueDV).

Pressing the black button only changes what is displayed on the screen (nothing/contact name or hostpot code version).

About the GD reboot, we discussed with Roger about that, and perhaps there is something that could trigger the watchdog when RXing really high BER frames.

Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
YT5HOK
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:36 am
Location: Belgrade, KN04FR

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by YT5HOK » Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:32 pm

kd2lh wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 12:23 pm
Hitting the black button takes it out of Hotspot mode.
...
F1RMB wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:38 pm
...
What ?!
No, there is definitely something wrong here. I see no reason for this.
...
Not happening here, Daniel. Black button shows hotspot version.

Mark, IMHO you might have problems with USB port, cable, or plugs on GD77.

BTW, my oldest Raspberry Pi Zero W died, so I had no spare for GD77 hotspot to test. Used 3A+, which is now in my Duplex Jumbo Spot. In the meantime I got two more 3A+, one for GD77 and one spare. Now starting long term test to see if I'll have those bugs (this one and the other one reported here: https://www.opengd77.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=560).
Marko

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by kd2lh » Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:18 pm

This thread is about the updating of the incoming call on the GD77 screen, not the other problem I reported about the GD77 resetting itself.

The black button worked right now, and shows version V0.0.82 as is displayed on the FW field of the PiStar desktop.

This was not the behavior after the failure, which I described in an earlier post.

User avatar
F1RMB
Posts: 412
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by F1RMB » Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:37 pm

Hi Marc,
kd2lh wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:18 pm
This thread is about the updating of the incoming call on the GD77 screen, not the other problem I reported about the GD77 resetting itself.

The black button worked right now, and shows version V0.0.82 as is displayed on the FW field of the PiStar desktop.

This was not the behavior after the failure, which I described in an earlier post.
0.0.82 is quite old, a lot of bugfixes has been done since then. Can you try with the latest version Roger published, or an even newer from myself here ?.


Cheers.
---
Daniel
73 de Daniel.

User avatar
kd2lh
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: Hotspot Mode - Call not initially updated

Post by kd2lh » Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:09 pm

Will do. i'll try the 1/29 version first.

Post Reply