No boot screen when "Prompt" is set to "Silent"

Post Reply
EA5JAQ
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:08 am

No boot screen when "Prompt" is set to "Silent"

Post by EA5JAQ » Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:19 am

Hello,

I just noticed that in the Development Release (D2020.06.28), when Prompt is set to Silent, the boot screen (reading "OpenDM1801" and the two lines programmed in the codeplug) is just skipped. If it's set back to any other value (Normal, Beep, etc.), it's back again.
I've got two Baofeng DM-860 radios, this happens in both of them.

Hope that helps :)

VK3KYY
Posts: 2996
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No boot screen when "Prompt" is set to "Silent"

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Jul 16, 2020 7:47 am

OK.

The amount of time that the boot screen is shown, is controlled by the length of time it takes to play the boot melody.

So if the boot melody is set to 0,0 then the boot screen is not displayed.

It looks like the prompt mode of "Silent" is having the side effect of making the boot melody equivalent to None.

We'll need to change the boot screen so that the length of time its shown, is determined by the length of time which the sound would be, if it was actually being played. Probably by totalling the duration of the notes.

VK3KYY
Posts: 2996
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No boot screen when "Prompt" is set to "Silent"

Post by VK3KYY » Thu Jul 16, 2020 9:48 am

Fixed....

Post Reply