Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

New users please post here first and let us know a little bit about yourself.
Post Reply
k9jpt@tengstrom.us
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:11 am

Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by k9jpt@tengstrom.us » Tue May 19, 2020 12:29 pm

Has anyone had an experience whereby connecting an external mic puts the HT running Opengd77 into VFO mode?

Mine is like this:
1. Connect mic
2. press mic button say something
3. I hear morse code
4. HT is in VFO mode
5. I reset zone in settings.

FYI-When I say VFO I mean that the display defaults to showing A & B bands on display.

Thank you

K9JPT

k9jpt@tengstrom.us
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:11 am

Re: Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by k9jpt@tengstrom.us » Tue May 19, 2020 12:51 pm

I addition to the above check out what happened now. The entire display 'flipped' when I keyed up on the mic.

It seems radioddity products are dangerous.
Attachments
image90.png
image90.png (12.21 KiB) Viewed 138 times

VK3KYY
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by VK3KYY » Tue May 19, 2020 9:41 pm

I use an external mic all the time

It sounds like your mic is acting like an antenna and pumping RF into the radio, and crashing the CPU.

Does you mic have wires for all 6 connections, if so it will be injecting RF into the USB port pins,which is known to crash the radio

k9jpt@tengstrom.us
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:11 am

Re: Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by k9jpt@tengstrom.us » Wed May 20, 2020 12:10 am

My mic worked very well prior to installing Open GD77.

How would I tell if I have 6 wires?

I noticed some other things. The counter doesn't start when I key the mic and after doing this a couple of times I got message "user Blocked". on BM 3100 :(

Strange.

VK3KYY
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by VK3KYY » Wed May 20, 2020 10:13 am

k9jpt@tengstrom.us wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 12:10 am
How would I tell if I have 6 wires?
Open the mic and see how many wires are in the cable

Actually, its probably possible to inject RF up the speaker, mic and PTT wires as well, but normally this doesnt happen, so I'm not sure why your mic is doing this.

k9jpt@tengstrom.us
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:11 am

Re: Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by k9jpt@tengstrom.us » Wed May 20, 2020 1:11 pm

Well thats the thing it worked flawlessly with stock GD77 firmware but now it doesn't.

Did you see the screen display I uploaded?? When I keyed the mic the entire display flipped backwards,

VK3KYY
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:25 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by VK3KYY » Wed May 20, 2020 9:33 pm

k9jpt@tengstrom.us wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 1:11 pm
Well thats the thing it worked flawlessly with stock GD77 firmware but now it doesn't.

Did you see the screen display I uploaded?? When I keyed the mic the entire display flipped backwards,
That’s a partial crash, the display controller interpreted the injected RF as the command to change the display orientation.

Although the radio does not have this problem with the official firmware, you are the only person with this problem, and it’s likely you have a hardware problem

The OPENGD77 firmware works the radio hardware a lot harder than the official firmware does, and it’s probably not as tolerant to faulty hardware as the official firmware is.

k9jpt@tengstrom.us
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:11 am

Re: Radioddity Mic reseting firmware?

Post by k9jpt@tengstrom.us » Thu May 21, 2020 12:30 pm

Is there a fix for this?

Nice to know your creating high end software and not associating your name with lackluster performance!

Did anyone ever tell you what the other half of your callsign means in Finnish? Rather poisonous actually :)

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&as_ ... as_rights=

Post Reply